Applications are CLOSED

Proudly sponsored by GoldSIM, the Society for Cryobiology is pleased to announce that applications are open for the  fourth annual Dayong Gao Young Investigator Award. 

The aim of the award is to foster and encourage early career cryobiology researchers who are in the first 10 years of their post-PhD career/research.

The Award carries a cash prize of $5,000, Annual Meeting Registration, and a special research and awards presentation at CRYO2022.  

Award Requirements

• The Society for Cryobiology Dayong Gao Young Investigator Award is open to cryobiology researchers from around the world. Applicants do not need to be members of the Society for Cryobiology. 
• Applicants must be less than 10 years post-PhD at the time of the application closing date, April 5, 2022. 
• The individual must be available to attend CRYO2022 in-person to present their research in a special session. 

• Application Form
• Proof of PhD graduation date
• 3 papers published or accepted for publication. The candidate must be corresponding or first author on all three papers.
• An academic resume/CV, which must contain a full list of publications
• 2 x letters of support from respected members of the cryobiology community. 
          • Letters must highlight the research contributions made by the submitted papers and the essential role of the applicant in the research projects. 
          • Letters must be on letterhead and signed by the author 
          • At least one letter must be from an individual who is not named as a co-author on any of the three papers submitted as part of the application. 

• All applications will be assessed by the Society for Cryobiology Awards Committee, and their decision is final. 
• Applicants will be evaluated on the overall quality of the applicant’s CV, and three original publications, and the letters of support. 

  • Applications must be submitted in English
  • In years in which the committee feels that applicants fall short of the expected standard, the committee may, at their discretion, withhold the Award.

Prof. Dayong Gao

Dr. Dayong Gao is the ORIGINCELL Endowed Professor of the Department of Mechanical Engineering and the Director of the Center for Cryo-Biomedical Engineering and Artificial Organs, the University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA. Prior to joining the University of Washington in 2004, he was the Baxter Healthcare Corp Chair of Engineering and the Alumni Professor of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, the University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY, USA.

Professor Gao is one of the internationally prominent scientists, educators, and leaders in Cryobiology, Cryo-Biomedical Engineering, and Artificial Organs-Bio-Instruments. He has published over 500 peer-reviewed research articles (including over 250 full journal papers) and over 40 scientific book chapters. He has trained and supervised over 200 graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and young visiting professors/investigators. He was the President of the Society for Cryobiology (2018-2019), and served as a Chairman of the 1996 Annual Meeting of the Society for Cryobiology (CRYO-1996), the 2004 World Conference of Cryobiology and Cryo-medicine (CRYO-2004), and the 2017 International Conference of Cryobiology and Biobanking (CRYO-2017), respectively. He was elected as a recipient of numerous international/national honors and awards, including the Member of the Washington State Academy of Sciences-USA, Fellow of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE), Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), Fellow of the Society for Cryobiology with the Basil J. Luyet Medal, American Heart Association Award, American Cancer Society Award, Asian American Engineer of the Year Award, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Global Health Research Award, Whitaker Foundation Young Investigator Award, Washington Foundation Innovation Award, and the International Society for Biological and Environmental Repositories (ISBER) Special Service Award.

Previous Winners


Dr. Victor Gallego Universitat Politècnica de València (UPV), Spain


Dr. Bushra Rakha Pir Mehr Ali Shah Arid Agriculture University Rawalpindi, Pakistan


Dr. Leandro Godoy Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil